Look at me. I’m a responsible fucking adult (so far)

This week has been a really productive one for me. Between not being hungover and waking up a lot earlier, I’ve gotten heaps done and am feeling so much better for it. And it’s not because I’ve been hiding myself away and avoiding temptation either. I went out for dinner twice this week and was good both times! I know this type of behaviour doesn’t really deserve congratulating but, fuck it, I did good.

I had dinner with a friend on Tuesday night. We went to this not-for-profit restaurant (they cover their overheads and then donate any extra funds to charity – awesome, huh?), shared a bottle of wine and just talked and talked and talked. The food was excellent and I was home by 10.30pm. We also went out for dinner last night (on a date, if you must know) and actually managed to drink responsibly. Just water at dinner, water at the first bar, a cocktail and a free shot (and water) at the next bar and some more water and a final cocktail at the last (which I ended up sharing with about three other people because they forgot to order their last drinks before midnight). Home by 12.30am and not even drunk. Which is pretty fucking impressive considering I didn’t have to work today.

Usually Thursday nights spell trouble for me because I know I have Friday off so I tend to go balls deep, regardless of what I’m meant to get done the next day (usually uni work). Yet, somehow we managed to be responsible. That’s not to say the thought of cutting loose didn’t cross my mind. A friend was on cocaine and I could smell it on him, which definitely made me at least think about doing some. I didn’t though. I also only did the one shot – given to us for free without us asking for it – even though my brain suggested I have another pretty much as soon as I remembered I didn’t have to work the next day. But I resisted.

It seems responsible drinking can be done so now we just have to stick with it. And, you know what, I still had fun. It’s not like I was bored all night because my alcohol consumption was interrupted by glasses of water. Turns out you can actually think clearly about whether you really want another one or are just on a roll and think you do. Plus there’s the added bonus of not embarrassing myself and remembering all the conversations I had. Who wouldn’t want more of that?

And what about the date? I’ll tell you about that tomorrow. 😉

5 thoughts on “Look at me. I’m a responsible fucking adult (so far)

    1. Thank you and, yes, it does suck. Why can’t I just do whatever I please without having to suffer stupid consequences like hangovers and possible addiction? Ugh, if we weren’t meant to do these things, they shouldn’t have made them so fun. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

